The brick wall

I was having dinner with my buddy Jason Walsh tonight. It was an interesting conversation.

I was exhausted and bitchy. Recently, I had a big breakthrough in a story (it’s still not ready to be published but still, it was a victory). Every time that happens, exhaustion takes over and I have to sleep for at least 2 weeks. It’s like pushing a heavy boulder up a hill and reaching the top. You just collapse.

With a magazine due out this month, I’ve had no time to collapse. So I’m tired. And cranky. I feel physically and emotionally drained. I feel like giving up. 

The ‘What if’s?’ are bothering me too. They’re keeping me up at night. What if it doesn’t work? What if it all blows up in my face? What if no one buys it? What if I look stupid?

Jason’s answer was simple:

“Journalism is like a brick wall. Bang your head on the wall for 2 or 3 years and you’ll have brain damage – but there will also be a hole in the wall.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.